top of page
The HEA Committee Team

Promoting home education & empowering home educators Australia wide.

Tina Smith, QLD

Committee member, from 2022

Portfolios: Communications, Insurance

Lyn Kulow, QLD

Treasurer, since 2021

Portfolio: Finance, Advertising & Partnerships, Subscriptions

Guy Tebbutt, NSW

Public Officer, since 2019

Member since 2009

Michael Wortley, NSW

Committee member, from 2022

Portfolios: Governance

David Walters, VIC

Vice President, since 2022

Portfolio: Charity & Insurance assist.

Ruth Easton, NSW

Secretary, since 2019

Portfolios: Registration Support, Membership, Helpline, Admin, Volunteers, Advocacy

Janelle Barnes, WA

President, since 2022

Portfolio: Events, Media liaison, WA Advocacy, Communications

2022 Committee June 12 2022.jpg
Elected Committee on 12 June 2022, AGM.

HEA Policies

Membership Terms & Conditions:

Other Policies:

HEA Constitution

Governing Document

Constitution Cover_lowres.jpg


The mission of the HEA is to promote the practice of home education across Australia, support and empower home educators and to advance educational equity for members.

Pillars - In order to achieve our mission, HEA will:

  • Increase the profile of and confidence in home education

  • Advocate in the interests of home education 

  • Empower and support home educators 

  • Coordinate events and conferences

  • Provide services and resources for our members 

  • Support networks and community groups 

  • Engage with organisations and suppliers in the sector 

  • Grow the Association

  • Assist home educators in need


The HEA upholds the principle that parents are primarily responsible for the education of their children and respects the diversity of philosophies and methods used by home educators. Our vision is to move towards an Australia where parents can freely choose home education, and where the HEA as the peak body has input into government policy. 


The HEA is the national not-for-profit, incorporated membership association serving Australian homeschoolers since 2001, when it was established by Colleen and Philip Strange. The HEA is run by a committee voluntarily coming together to lead the association.

bottom of page